Home » Finished Sewing Projects » Two Liberty Jersey Monetas

Two Liberty Jersey Monetas

A quick catch up post with these two Colette Monetas. They were the first things I made after finishing my Coat and were the perfect palate cleansing instant sewification I needed. Both fabrics were bargain Liberty seconds from eBay. The blue is quite fine and very stretchy but has a lot of weight to it, the grey is slightly thicker but with a similar weight.

WP_20160110_031

WP_20160110_032

I made both of them up the same as my last Moneta, cutting a large. I had to take the skirt off the blue one and shorten the bodice as the weight of the skirt was pulling it down a fair bit. I took an inch off the grey too for the same reason. I sewed them up mainly on my overlocker and just twin needled the hem and neckline on my regular machine. It’s been nearly two months since I finished these and they have been well worn. They’re perfect secret pyjamas for pottering around the house, paired with leggings and a cardie. I took these photos a couple of weeks ago and they must have been washed a dozen times before but they look just as good as when I first made them. It just shows that although Liberty jersey is expensive it really does stand up to repeated wearing and washing. I still have one more piece in my stash, a heavier weight grey/blue/black print, there’s a couple of possible patterns but I don’t want to commit until I’m sure of a match.

WP_20160110_022

WP_20160110_023

 

WP_20160110_089

WP_20160110_026

WP_20160110_029

WP_20160110_064

 

I’m still enjoying sewing without a plan. The dress I’m working on at the moment is a copy of one Peggy wore on Mad Men which I’ve been wanting to make for a couple of years. There’s been a bit of frankenpatterning and tweaking going on but I’ve got high hopes for it. If I can get it finished this weekend I’ll be happy. Then it’s just a matter of looking through my stash and seeing where inspiration takes me for my next project!

19 thoughts on “Two Liberty Jersey Monetas

  1. Lovely Moneta dresses! This is such a perfect basic pattern and I love the Liberty jersey! I started trying to get to grips with Wren but might just make some more Monetas instead.

  2. Gorgeous! I’m looking forward to seeing that Pegegy dress, hope the sewing is going well – I always meant to make a Mad Man inspired dress & never got around to it. One day!

    • Have you tried doing a small bust adjustment? They seem a lot easier than full ones as you’re reducing rather than adding it on. I know Colette is drafted for a C cup but they always cover a SBA in their sewalongs. If it works for you your pattern choice will be limitless!

Leave a Reply

